Eusebius and Florestan were a great source of inspiration for Robert Schumann. Not only were they the pseudonyms Robert Schumann wrote in the Neue Zeitschrift für Musik, they were also two characters who appeared in various pieces of music, for example in Drei Fantasiestücke op.73 that will be performed this afternoon not only by piano but also by clarinet and viola.

Hommage à R. Sch. op.15d (1990) by György Kurtag is a tribute to his great example: Robert Schumann. The concert ends with the Piano Concerto No. 4 'Orpheus', G op. 58 (1805) (ed. Lachner) by Ludwig van Beethoven.

Robert Schumann (1810 – 1856) - Drei Fantasiestücke op.73 (1949)
Zart und mit Ausdruck
Lebhaft, leicht
Rasch und mit Feuer 

Julien Hervé, clarinet
Georgy Kovalev, viola
Hannes Minnaar, piano

György Kurtág (1926) - Hommage à R. Sch. op.15d (1990)

Julien Hervé, clarinet
Georgy Kovalev, viola
Hannes Minnaar, piano

Alban Berg (1885 – 1935) - Vier Stücke für Klarinette und Klavier op.5 (1913)
Julien Hervé, clarinet
Hannes Minnaar, piano 


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827) - Pianoconcert nr. 4 'Orpheus', in G op.58 (1805)
(bew. Lachner)  
Allegro moderato
Andante con moto  
Rondo (Vivace)

Olga Pashchenko, fortepiano
Cecilia Bernardini, violin 
Eva Saladin, violin
Emlyn Stam, viola
Marcus van den Munckhof, cello
Ying Lai Green, double bass

Tickets à € 43,50

Orpheus, Florestan and Eusebius