During this concert we will look for ancestors and descendants. Two composers are examined: Maurice Ravel and his student Gabriel Fauré. Even in the stage it becomes clear how young and old can go together: the old forte piano and the new grand piano during Le Tombeau de Couperin ("The memorial stone for Couperin").
With this composition, Ravel mainly wanted to pay tribute to the French harpsichord suite from the Baroque period and not so much to the composer Couperin himself. Ravel took the structure of the Baroque suite as a starting point. In this concert the Suite in b minor by Couperin will be intertwined with the work of Ravel.

François Couperin (1668 - 1733) - Suite 27 in b minor
intertwined with
Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937) - Le Tombeau de Couperin (1914/17)

Olga Pashchenko, harpsichord
Hannes Minnaar, piano

Gabriel Fauré (1845 – 1924) - Mirages op. 113 (1919)
Cygne sur l'eau
Reflets dans l'eau
Jardin nocturne

Thomas Oliemans, baritone
Hannes Minnaar, piano


Gabriel Fauré (1845 – 1924) - Piano Kwintet no.1, d minor. op. 89 (1890/05)
Molto moderato
Allegretto moderato

Le Quatuor Elmire (Cyprien Brod, viool, Khoa-Nam Nguyen, viool, Issey Nadaud, altviool, Rémi Carlon, cello)
Hannes Minnaar, piano

Tickets à € 43,50

Prior to this concert you can have dinner.

Musical mirages