Sold out

Change. It can be done in leaps and bounds or almost imperceptibly. Sometimes as an inner process or moving along with the ever-progressing reality around us. Thus a butterfly is born from transformation. From earthly doll to a weightless ascending being.

Kaija Sariaaho's butterflies symbolize transience and the search for a new world in sounds.

In his Harmonies poétiques et religieuses, Liszt turns to himself; meditative and observational. In Metamorphosen, Strauss mourned the world that had been destroyed and irreversibly changed at the end of WWII.

Kaija Saariaho (1952) - Sept papillons for cello solo (2000) 

Jakob Koranyi, cello

Franz Liszt (1811 – 1886) - Harmonies poétiques et religieuses (1846-51)
- Pensées des morts
- Hymne de l’enfant à son réveil
- Cantique d’amour

Enrico Pace, piano

Richard Strauss (1864 – 1949) - Metamorphosen (1945)

Liza Ferschtman, violin
Esther Hoppe, violin
Lars Anders Tomter, viola
Jennifer Stumm, viola
Jakob Koranyi, cello
Ivan Karizna, cello
Niek de Groot, double bass

The Steinway & Sons grand piano is provided by Pianos Maene Nederland.

Met elke stap komt verandering dichterbij